John Piper

John Piper is pastor of Bethlehem Baptist Church in Minneapolis.  He is founder of Desiring God Ministries and author of many books.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Piper’s Christian Hedonism is difficult for a lot of people to grasp at first, but it is absolutely essential to understanding the gospel.  He is influenced heavily by Augustine, John Calvin, Jonathan Edwards, and C. S. Lewis (all of whom he quotes regularly and liberally).  He takes these great intellectuals (and many others) and makes them easier to understand.  He puts the cookies on the lower shelf.

My only critique . . . at times (not uncommonly), Jesus is not the hero of his messages.  He can get quite caught up in much practical application, that the motivation can be lost.  But, on his better days, the glory and splendor of Christ can be revealed in unique ways that I have rarely heard.

In my opinion, he’s a better writer than most prolific writers, and a much better speaker/preacher than a writer.  Everything he says is worth listening to.  I particularly recommend his biography series.

Ok, for the main links:

Well, that will get you started, for sure.  Are you familiar with Christian Hedonism?  What do you think?  Are you a Christian Hedonist?  Have you converted others?

2 responses to “John Piper

  1. jimmyjamesjimbo

    I have read Pipers book “Desiring God” and I have to say that I am a Christian Hedonist. I don’t like to actually call myself that, but it is important for me to experience the joy of Jesus Christ. I think that is the biggest part of Pipers book.

  2. Pingback: Amazing Grace « Wanderings Toward Truth, Beauty and Love

Leave a Reply

