To Own a Dragon

Donald Miller, To Own a Dragon: Reflections on Growing Up Without a Father.  NavPress, 2006.

This is my first of Miller’s books.  He is a better writer than he is a speaker, and that is saying something big.  Miller writing style is terrific.  He is interesting, humorous, poignant, dramatic, poetic and meaningful. 

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

The topic of manhood is quite interesting to me, but I grew up with wonderful, loving, affirming father.  I can’t really identify with Miller in some of this core content, but the book is so well written, it is helpful anyway.  He is a great storyteller, and this book is a keeper for the great stories alone.  I’m about halfway throught the book, and I think I’ve pretty much picked up all the content I need from this book, but I’m going to read the rest of it because I love his style and stories.  I rarely read a book from beginning to end, but this one will be worth it.

I bought Blue Like Jazz at the same time with this one, so expect a quick review of that one soon, too.

Leave a Reply

