How People Change

How People Change, Timothy S. Lane and Paul David Tripp, New Growth Press, 2006

What a terrific and challenging book!

The structure was (and still is) hard for me to understand, but this is the best I’ve ever read on the practical working of the gospel to change people’s lives . . . with so many examples of real stories to illustrate the points already well-made, and clearly demonstrated from the Bible.  Great work, brothers.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough.  It will be the one I talk about for a while, and maybe I’ll make my staff read it.  It will certainly fuel my teaching and preaching for a long time to come.

From page 99,

I had an epiphany one Wednesday evening in the middle of our small group meeting.  People were sharing prayer requests, but it was the same old grocery list of situational, self-protective prayer requests masquerading as openness and self-disclosure.  I found myself thinking, Why did we all feel the need to clean up our prayer requests before giving them?  Why were we all so skilled at editing ourselves out of our prayer requests?  Why were we so good at sharing the difficult circumstances we faced, yet so afraid of talking about our struggles in the middle of them? Did we really care more abou what people thought than we did about getting help?  Did we really think that God would be repulsed by our sins and weakness? I wondered who we thought we were fooling.  It was as if we had all agreed upon an unspoken set of rules, a conspiracy of silence.  I looked around the room.  These were people I thought I knew well.  I did know what many of them were facing, yet I knew little of the wars going on inside them.

One response to “How People Change

  1. This has been my struggle of late; what is the source of the sense of disconnectedness at our church? We speak of knowing God, we even appear to be learning grace. But when it comes to loving people, why is that so hard?

    I believe the masquerade needs to end, and that it is the source of the problem; the reason we can’t love genuinely.

    Can we love people without being truthful about ourselves? Can we love people without honesty; without authenticity? Also, can we expect anyone to love us if we are constantly putting on a show?

    Thanks for the reference. I’ll pick up a copy of this one.

Leave a Reply

